Audience Subjective Confidence Builder: My 3 Key Tips That Could Help You Build Your Confidence When You’re Giving a Presentation or Speech.

Confidence is mainly a major key factor that plays a big part in our lives, and it’s something that can be put upon once too often if it’s not used correctly, for instance, if you were to discuss a topic based on, for example, modern society, technology, as well as how certain things work, having some confidence is good, but would you want 25% to be confidence, and the 75% to be nerves? From my perspective, no. Why? Because it’s normal to have nerves, but if you were to have 50% of both confidence and nerves, these are mainly useful as you can use both to your advantage. When I say using them both to your advantage, I mean that if it was to come to something, such as speaking and listening, both of these are useful and good in certain cases for if you really want to capture your audience.

To start, I will give you all my 3 Key Tips based on how these could help you build your confidence when you’re giving a presentation or speech.

Tip 1: Have a Clear Tone of Voice That the Audience Can Hear.

To make sure you get your voice heard by your audience, you have to make sure to speak at the correct tone where everyone can hear you, especially those in the audience who are sat at the very back, as you want to be able to make sure that what you talk about is clear and precise, and that what you’re talking to your audience about is suitable and clear. Also, a clear tone of voice can really prove to be beneficial when you’re giving a presentation or speech based on what your presentation or speech about.

Tip 2: Controlling Your Nerves When Your Giving a Presentation or Speech.

In order for your presentation or speech to be the best presentation or speech possible, taking deep breaths here and there can help to control your nerves, especially at times when you feel really nervous, like as if you want to cease up. Controlling your nerves while giving a presentation or speech can really prove to be beneficial if you’re either speaking in front of a class, a whole school or even in front of thousands upon thousands of developers.

Tip 3: Keep offering to go up and speak about something that you’ve been working on.

This is where my confidence really grew, because when I was in school, going up in front of the class was nerve-wracking for me, considering that I didn’t feel confident and was often nervous, but it was offering to go up and speaking about what I was working on that made me feel more confident, because I often went up in front of my Year 11 Form Group to talk about my blog, as well as the types of things that I would be doing once our final exam season came to an end.

For me, it was going up in front of my class more and talking about my blog that made me feel more confident when I spoke, as I felt more confident after going up again and again, and I didn’t feel as nervous as much as I used to, and now that is doing me a lot of favours now that I’m re-taking the GCSE English course, as I recently did my Speaking & Listening assessment, which came back as a B grade, which could make up the final exam grade I get at the end of this course. Fingers crossed I pass this time around.

But back to the subject of things, I believe that the more you offer to go up and give your presentation or speech, the more confident you’ll become, and you’ll also find that you won’t feel as nervous as before, as confidence can really help you to give your presentation and speech with more of a clear overview, without your presentation or speech becoming compromised. If, for example, you want to have something that connects to what your presentation, you would want what you’re talking about to have the three main keys; Prepare, Produce, Persist. For me, these three keys are what help me to feel confident, and I believe that these three keys will help you if you’re looking to build your confidence further.

To conclude, I believe that the less nervous you are at giving presentations or speeches, the more confident you’ll become.

I hope my 3 key tips have helped all of you, and please feel free to feedback your thoughts based on whether you thought my 3 tips helped you, and whether they have made you feel more confident in giving a presentation or speech.

☺ Alex Smithson ☺

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

