Study Time: Does a Large Workload from School, College or Even University Stress You Out?

Study time. It can be a good thing to study and do some research based on the kind of work you may be looking to produce, but does having a large workload from school, college or even university stress you out?

Although I believe study time is crucial, I have known on some, if not, a lot of occasions, that it can be stressful, especially when you’re in school, college or university. Over the course of last year, I did notice how stressful the workload was, because I would get on a number of occasions, a lot of work piled on top of me, which, when deadlines were around the corner, I would sometimes panic about any work that may have not been completed, and in a lot of cases, I would often get stressed out.

Sometimes with me, a large workload and stress just don’t go together with me, because if the workload I’m given contains stuff that I haven’t studied, mainly because a teacher has asked or told me not to, I sometimes get stressed out. September 2014 to July 2015 was a massive learning curve for me, and I’ve noticed since I’ve been back at college that I’ve been keeping on top of all the work and completing any work I’m given as soon as I’m given it, because I hate the thought of falling behind, but I have noticed, however, that I’ve been prioritising my time more on my studies than I have on everything else, which is much better now, but I’m also finding that because I have a huge amount of time on my hands now because I have kept all of my work up-to-date, and kept far ahead in the Film & Photography course I’m on, I’ve actually noticed that I’ve been able to publish more articles on Mother Nature, which, to me, is absolutely brilliant, because I’m being a lot more productive now than I was last year. October to December were probably the only three months of the year where I actually published the most articles in those 3 months.

I must admit, although I always keep my work up-to-date now, I have also begun to notice that I feel a lot more relaxed now because of the huge amount of free time I have on my hands, and sometimes, I like to use that free time to play games and possibly take some photos, but a lot of the time, I like to write articles for Mother Nature, as I always like to try to keep as productive as possible, so that my body and mind stays active for as long as possible.

When it came to school studies, I was always feeling stressed about doing work during study time, because the energy was often not there, and because of the fact that the time was either so slow or so fast on some days, it was virtually impossible to keep on top of the work. It was only when I got to Year 10 and Year 11 that I noticed my way of studying was improving, but Year 11 really was the year where my focus would stay up, as I just made sure to concentrate and get all of my work done, including completing homework on time. Year 11 may have been possibly the most stressful and the most anxious year of my life, given that my final exams were just around the corner at that stage, but I just thought that it would be a good idea to just work hard and revise, and then do the exams, at least that way, all that work would eventually pay off.

For college studies, however, I was only stressed out at some stages when it came to completing work in my first year, because I accidentally fell behind in my work at least a month after I began my first year at college, and as a result, to add to my stress further, I had to go in on the days I wasn’t scheduled in, which were, at the time, Wednesday’s & Friday’s, and as you can imagine, I was annoyed, tired and stressed, but now, I don’t feel like that at all, because ever since I went back to college in September 2015 after successfully completing my first year, I just made sure to keep on top of the work, and ever since then, I’ve not looked back, and not just that, but I enjoy the fact that I get more free time to myself now.

School work is stressful enough for those of you currently going through secondary school, but college work isn’t as stressful, because although there may be more work, it’s less stressful when you’ve only got a bit of work to do or no work at all.

Before I conclude, all I can say is even if you are stressed out with large workloads from school, college or university, make the most of the study time you have and value each second as it comes, because those seconds you spend now will never come back, and it’s always the best idea to value your study time, because it is important, and yes, time is precious, so make the most of it while you can now. You might not think it now, but in the future, you’ll be able to look back on your past at the time you used to study, and you’ll be able to say that: “I did all that, and that is the main reason why I am here today”.

Even if study time stresses you out, just keep being yourself, concentrate on you and only you and go for the highest opportunity you can possibly think of, trust me and believe me when I say this, it will all be worth it in the end.

Have you ever had a large workload stress you out? Have you ever wanted to look back and think of how much you achieved? Most importantly, how do you feel now that you’ve used that study time? Do you feel you have used it wisely? What part of your study time would you want to revisit in your life?

Please feel free to feedback your answers to the questions I’ve asked. Your feedback is much appreciated ☺.

Alex Smithson

Announcement: Mother Nature is now on Instagram. If you’re someone who uses Instagram on a regular basis, and would like to be kept up-to-date on the articles I’ll be publishing over the course of time, please feel free to follow Mother Nature on Instagram at this username: @mothernaturewebsite.

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

