Topic: Do You Think the Media is Responsible for Making Gang Culture Seem Attractive to Young People?

With gangs becoming a major problem in modern-day life, I want to focus this topic of discussion on whether the media is responsible for making gang culture seem attractive to young people. I know for a fact that this is something that some people may be too afraid to talk about, but I’m going to stand up and talk about this topic in detail because I won’t and shall not hide my views on gang culture, as I’ll be making sure to outline in this topic whether I think the media is responsible for making gang culture seem attractive to young people.

If you don’t feel comfortable with this topic, I do sincerely apologise, but I want to make sure to talk in-depth about what I think of the media and whether it is responsible for making gang culture seem attractive to the younger generations.

In modern-day life, gangs have been known for creating and causing problems for everyone around them, especially when it comes to one of the main attractions, such as video-games, which have often been known to promote physical and verbal violence for those playing a certain game. The media, however, have also been known for making things a lot worse for people, as certain games, whether they’re digital or not, have been made to look worse for wear, with the end result being that someone ends up either in hospital, with it also being that someone ends up getting killed.

I personally believe that the media are responsible for making things worse, as the younger generations seem to believe that gang culture is attractive to them, when in reality, it is not attractive, let alone mature. The media, from my eyes, is amoral nowadays, because almost everyday now, I hear of a stabbing or a fatal shooting that has occurred either in Croydon or in London, or even elsewhere in that matter, and it’s disgusting behaviour that our generation and the younger generations are showing, and I’m sorry, but we need more police numbers out on the street, because I personally hate the fact that nothing is being done for all of us to be protected.

I know for a fact the police numbers were cut to save money, but if you want to know what I think, I think sod the cost, and just keep our police on the streets, because if it means that our lives are kept under protection, then the more protection there is, the better. I know all of you might think I sound cross as I’m writing this, and to be honest, I am cross about it all because nothing much is being done to keep the crime rates down.

Personally, I feel that nothing is being done to stop these gangs from committing crimes, and I also believe wholeheartedly that the media is just as responsible for making things worse for people, because by them making gang culture seem attractive to young people, this is their way of trying to lure people in, into doing something that they know they shouldn’t be doing. Take this as an example, it’s like they have dangled a carrot in front of a donkey or horse, and expected them to try to eat it. It’s that kind of bad example that is presented to the younger generations nowadays, and it’s sad to see that nothing is being done to stop it from happening.

Before the police numbers were cut, everyone was able to feel safe and feel that they had a sense of security that kept them at arm’s length, but after the police numbers were cut, security is now a major concern, and there’s so many risks of anyone being stabbed to death, and not just that, but with little of security, it will all become too much until someone is shot and killed, and I still go by what I’ve said, sod the cost of police numbers, and just keep our police on the streets, because we all need to be protected and we all need to be given all the security that we need in order for the streets to become safer to walk around again.

At the end of the day, it all boils down to one thing. Ignorance. We can only stop ignorance from occurring by stopping gang culture from growing, and the only way gang culture can stop multiplying is if the police numbers are brought back up, and the only way that gang culture can die out is if we have more security on the streets. It’s not just security we need, but we also need to make sure our health and safety doesn’t become a major concern and that it doesn’t become a massive target for gang culture.

The media can be a twisted, dark and amoral place to be brainwashed, and the only thing I can say is don’t fall into their trap, because you might never get out of it.

If you feel that the media is responsible for making gang culture seem attractive to young people, and if you believe that the police numbers should go back up, even if it costs too much, then please feel free to feedback your thoughts on what you believe should happen and how we can put an end to gang culture once and for all.

Alex Smithson

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

