A Bright, Beautiful & Joyful Day in the Borough of Croydon.

As we had relatively mild but refreshing Spring weather in Croydon over the course of yesterday, I thought it would be the perfect opportunity during my lunch break to get a large number of photos whilst I had the free time available.

Luckily, because there was not a spot of bad weather at all, I did find taking these photographs a lot better than how I would normally take them when there’s bad weather, but I did take some dangerous risks in taking photos while standing on the pavement between the bus routes and the tram lines, as I was making sure to take the photos while there was no form of transport coming from either direction. Don’t worry, I was being extremely cautious of my surroundings, so I did make sure to keep an eye out for my own safety.

I was lucky I had plenty of free time on my hands during my lunch break, as I wanted to get some more photos in of Croydon, but this time focusing on the parts of Croydon that I haven’t had a chance to photograph properly before.

These photographs which I took with the Camera+ app (Recommended) is just an insight of the kind of photography skills I am currently learning to put to good use considering I’m studying on the UAL (University of the Arts London) Level 3 Diploma Film & Photography Course at Croydon College.

In the first two weeks back at college, I’ve already completed the filming of my final stop-frame animation film (using two sock puppets and some building blocks), as I’ve shot 100 photos for my film, and yesterday, I was using the Ultra Key (Chroma Key) in Adobe Premiere at Croydon College to get rid of the green screen in all of the photos I took, as I would be using one of the Natural History Museum photos I took as a backdrop for my film, given that my film is based around depression, as the concept of my film focuses on a teacher who is on the edge after receiving the sack from his job, though the character I’ve made, who is the teacher that is depressed, bumps into someone who helps him to turn his life around and to get him back on his feet.

I’m hoping, if it’s possible over next week, to get the film finished, and then possibly publish it in full on YouTube, so that I can embed the video in another article. The video has been a lot of hard work, but hopefully I’ll be able to finish it, and then publish it.

But back to the subject of things, I thought yesterday was a lovely day, considering that it was relatively mild, but nice and sunny as well, and I hope to get out more during this year by going places to get some more photos, which I can hopefully publish on here.

If you enjoyed viewing the photos I took and added to this article, please feel free to feedback your thoughts on this article, including the photos I took. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Alex Smithson

One thought on “A Bright, Beautiful & Joyful Day in the Borough of Croydon.

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

