Do You Think That Bus Drivers are Considerate?

Let’s face it, we’ve all had our fair share of bad experiences, whether it would be to do with a fall or whether it would be to do with the consideration of any passenger‘s safety, especially for those who wait at their bus stops to get the next bus that’s due.

Do I think that bus drivers are considerate? To be honest, it’s 50/50 when it comes to bus drivers, because you don’t know whether that bus driver whose bus you’re getting on is respectful and considerate not just about safety, but considerate about the people who want to get on that specific bus.

I have divided opinions over bus drivers nowadays, because in the past two years that I’ve actually been going it alone on transport, for instance when I’m on my 367 buses, some of the bus drivers I’ve come across show a lack of respect and don’t give any passengers getting on or off the bus a chance to get up, which puts the lives of those getting on or off their buses in danger, without the bus driver giving the passenger’s safety a second thought, while some bus drivers can be very respectful, thoughtful and considerate.

The reasons for why I have divided opinions over bus drivers nowadays is because some of them are, once they get behind the wheel, like joy-riders, thinking it’s okay to play dangerously with the lives of those without even considering the consequences that they will suffer in the process, but some bus drivers aren’t like that at all, and it’s the ones that aren’t like that at all that are very respectful and considerate that I can get along with.

Last Wednesday, just the day before I had to take the following day off from college due to falling sick with a stinking cold and sore throat, I waited at my bus stop like you do on a normal college day, and one of the passengers quite clearly put his hand out to give the bus driver complete indication that some of us could get on, but instead, the bus driver decided to drive on despite being given the indication, and to be honest, yes I took an instant dislike to the bus driver, and because of it, I had to run to the next bus stop just around the corner so I could get on, and believe me, I was in such a foul mood last Wednesday morning as a result.

Luckily I did get to college on time after running at full speed to get to the bus, but I was lucky to have kept a neutral mindset when I was on that bus, because if I didn’t, I could have had a go at the bus driver, and I could have been chucked off the bus straightaway, no questions asked, but I kept a neutral mindset about it all despite being in a foul mood, but also because there’s CCTV on the bus, which is why I didn’t say anything none the wiser, because at the end of the day, it’s common sense, and it’s never a good idea to make your feelings known, especially if CCTV cameras are in use.

This bad experience with transport is nothing new to me though because I’ve suffered a few injuries on my 367 bus in the past (not life-threatening luckily), which was the first time ever that I had fallen on a bus, but this kind of experience is nothing new, not to me and to any of us, but I would appreciate it if something regarding all these issues with bus drivers can be stopped, because it’s only a matter of time before someone gets hurt, and it’s only a matter of time before calls for complaints regarding trouble are made that can get a bus driver the sack.

Just last year, a bus driver was given the sack from her job after throttling the victim in question that caught her on camera jumping a red light, and even then, this news caused quite the furore and a major uproar on social media.

As you can imagine, I was shocked and angry to learn of the news, because I thought that if something like that was to happen on the bus I get on, I would make sure to record or photograph any evidence of a bus driver doing such a thing so that I can say that I was using that kind of evidence to not just my own defence, but the defence of all those on the bus in question.

At the end of the day, all we can only do is ascertain and take on board what is happening around us, as these kinds of problems will not go away unless we act on getting these problems dealt with soon.

If you strongly believe that your safety and best interests at heart should be thought of by bus drivers, then please feel free to feedback your thoughts and opinions on bus drivers. Your thoughts and opinions are much appreciated.

Alex Smithson

One thought on “Do You Think That Bus Drivers are Considerate?

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

