Remembering Ronnie Corbett: A Man of Mighty Humour (1930 – 2016)

The world woke up to some sad news today, as the Man of Mighty Humour, Ronnie Corbett, sadly passed away this morning at the age of 85.

Ronnie Corbett used to star alongside his companion, also his close friend, Ronnie Barker, who passed away 11 years ago in 2005, shortly after The Two Ronnies Sketchbook Series came to an end.

I must admit, to hear of this absolutely shocking and sad news this morning of Ronnie Corbett’s passing, I was absolutely shocked, and to be honest, I still cannot take the news of his death in even now, as none of us knew this was going to happen.

In the years I’ve been around, I loved watching The Two Ronnies Sketchbook, as they were always known for putting a smile on my face, with their mischievous sense of humour, but also making everyone else around them smile. Ronnie Corbett was no different to Ronnie Barker, as he always made the eyes of the public laugh everytime he did his own ‘In the Seat’ sketches.

The most memorable part of The Two Ronnies Sketchbook was when I watched Ronnie Corbett and Ronnie Barker dressed up as choir singers, where they literally just sung, but also made fun of themselves in the process.

Another memorable sketch that made me smile was when they did the Cleaning Ladies sketch, when they just sung as they were messing around like no tomorrow, and even that made me laugh, but the one most memorable sketch I remember was when they did the Crossed Lines sketch, where they would be in the same place, and they would phone each other just a walk away from each other, and honestly, I have never laughed so much, but who could forget the funniest sketch of them all?

The Swedish Made Simple sketch where they just used letters to describe certain things we know was just too much to handle. I’ve just watched that sketch again after a while on YouTube, and honestly, it’s still a funny memory to hold in my mind even now, but the comments are just something else. Below are some of the memorable sketches from The Two Ronnies.

To end this tribute article, I just wanted to say that I will never forget you Ronnie Corbett. You are the reason why so many people have smiles on their faces, even mine. Thank you for everything Ronnie. You will be missed dearly, but you will never be forgotten. Thank you for all the happy memories Ronnie Corbett.

In traditional Two Ronnies style: “It’s goodnight from me, and it’s goodnight from him. Goodnight.”

Alex Smithson

One thought on “Remembering Ronnie Corbett: A Man of Mighty Humour (1930 – 2016)

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

