The Barbican Gallery | Tuesday 10th May 2016 | Croydon College

On Tuesday, I travelled with my Film & Photography class up to London on a trip to the Barbican Gallery. Because this is the first time I have ever visited the Barbican Gallery, I was shocked to find how massive it was inside. There is so much information available at hand and whilst I was there, I took photos around certain parts of the Barbican where I was allowed, and I must say I was surprised. Despite the damp and dismal weather we had on Tuesday, this didn’t stop me from getting a collection of photos together.

Below are the collection of photographs I was able to get whilst I was on the trip on Tuesday.

I also did some note-taking whilst I was on the trip, as part of the research I’ve been gathering for my Final Major Project. Below are the notes that I gathered from Tuesday’s trip.

Strange and Familiar – Curated by the Iconic British Photographer, Martin Parr.

International photographers from the 1930s onwards.

Edith Tudor-Hart

  • Family Group, Stepney, London (ca. 1932)
  • Group Reading the Daily Worker, London (ca. 1943)
  • Gee Street, Finsbury, London (ca. 1936 – 1937)
  • Poodle Parlour, London (ca. 1936 – 1937)
  • Kensal House, London (ca. 1938)

Robert Frank

  • City of London (1952)
  • City of London (1951)
  • London (1951)
  • Caerau, Wales (1953)
  • Wales, Ben James (1953)

Paul Strand

  • Mary and John McKinnon, South Uist, Hebrides (1954)

Cas Oorthuys

  • Pupils of an Oxford Girls School (1962)
  • Car Transporter Outside Balliol College, Oxford (1962)
  • Oxford (1962)
  • Hogarth Court, Camden Road, London (1953)
  • Hyde Park, London (1953)
  • Merchant, East London (1953)
  • Arabian Merchant, Petticoat Lane, London (1953)

Bruce Davidson

  • Woman in Wheelchair, Brighton (1965)
  • Hastings, England (1960)
  • Teatime in the Car, Brighton (1960)
  • Couples on Stone Beach, Brighton (1960)
  • Lloyd’s List, London (1960)

Gian Butturini

  • Man Walking Down a Street (1969)
  • Homeless (1969)
  • A Calm Day (1969)

Jim Dow

  • Interior, Bert’s Eel and Pie Shop, Peckham, London (15th July 1985)
  • Window Display at Khatta-Meetha Vegetarian Take-Away, Leicester (21st March 1987)

Bruce Gilden

  • West Bromwich, Debbie (2013)
  • West Bromwich, Andy, from Newcastle, of the Bus Station (2014)
  • Romford, Essex, Sherry (2013)
  • Essex (2013)
  • West Bromwich, Peter at the Bus Station (2014)

Overall, I did enjoy the trip and I would love to go again sometime. It’s massive in the Barbican, so I now know what to expect if I plan on revisiting the Barbican Gallery again in the foreseeable future.

If you enjoyed this article of my trip to the Barbican Gallery, please feel free to submit feedback. All feedback is much appreciated.

Alex Smithson

© Croydon College 2016

© The Croydon College Logo is Copyright of Croydon College. Permission has been granted for the logo to be used on here. No Copyright Infringement Intended.

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

