A Note Regarding the EU Referendum. Please Read.

Since I voted to Leave the EU on the 23rd June, which I don’t regret in doing so, I have noticed the large amount of Facebook statuses on my News Feed, not to mention the large amount of tweets that have appeared on Twitter that are xenophobic, racist and even disgraceful, especially certain statuses that have come up on my News Feed from those who feel I should have to delete them off of my Facebook because I chose to Leave.

Saying that the older generation shouldn’t have a right to vote to Leave or Remain is not your choice because at the end of the day, to those of you who are the same age as me, 18, or possibly older, you may get a say on why you choose to Leave or Remain in the EU, but it doesn’t make you as knowledgeable as them because you, including myself, have not been around long enough to say that you choose to agree or disagree with why someone chose to Leave or Remain.

Realise one thing, your parents are the reason why you’re here and if they chose to vote to Leave or to Remain, that is entirely up to them.

Your parents have every single right in the world to have their say on why they chose to Leave or to Remain, purely because if your parents were born before 1975, then they have every reason to choose to Leave or Remain because they have been through what you and myself never went through at mine and your age.

I will not delete you off of any social media whatsoever because I haven’t done anything wrong. I gave specific reasons on my website as to why I chose to Leave the EU and the reasons I gave were not xenophobic, racist or even disgraceful at all.

For once in your life, and this is aimed at some of you, grow up and start acting your age because I have done the most adult thing in voting for the side I chose to vote, and whether you choose to respect that or not is your choice, but don’t feel you can complain and make judgments towards me or anyone else because that makes you immature. This is my first time voting so please give me a chance.

I have chosen to write this as I am seriously getting fed up of all the rude statuses, comments, not to mention the rude tweets that keep coming up and for some of you to pass judgment and make comments purely because you may or may not like the final result that was announced at 7:35 AM on Friday morning (and yes, I stayed up until that time for the result), it just proves if you’re going to be like that towards others, then what good will this do to you in the future? It won’t do you any good and it will lose you friends.

You can choose to disagree with reading this, but the simplest thing is, if anyone chose to vote to Leave or to Remain, you have to respect anyone’s choices and also treat them with respect and vice versa, even if they chose to vote either side. You also have to respect those who didn’t get the chance to vote as well and especially those who may have chosen to not vote at all.

I understand and respect everyone’s decisions entirely if you voted to Leave or to Remain, but please don’t feel you can criticise, blame, make horrific remarks and not give a care what decisions everyone chooses to make.

Even though I have voted Leave, I have and always will give you all respect no matter what the situation or outcome, but please do not promote hate and bad blood because the decision has been made for the United Kingdom to leave the European Union.

But most of all, please show respect towards one another and respect all those around you because you are all going to need one another one day and you will find that by not showing respect, you will have taken each other for granted.

By showing respect, you show that you will not take them for granted and accept them for the decisions they choose to make in life.

Make peace. Don’t start a war, but most of all, come together and respect one another because whether you chose to vote to Leave or Remain, I will always respect you no matter what.

One more thing. Always be equal, diverse and respect all those around you and you’ll find that you’ll be respected more.

Please don’t feel at all that what I’ve said here you shouldn’t take to heart, I just want everyone to get on with one another and to love one another. I respect you all no matter what choices you choose to make and will always respect you no matter what.

To all of you reading this, I sincerely apologise if you do by chance get offended. This is not my intention.

Alex Smithson

3 thoughts on “A Note Regarding the EU Referendum. Please Read.

  1. Very well said. It is not about the Yea’s or the Nay’s in any situation that people of voting age are asked to make a decision. They are going to decide however they choose as do we. They are entitled to have their say on what they believe is best for them or in this case, their country. Isn’t that what voting is all about? Freedom of choice?

    Like

  2. I feel as if a majority of the people who voted stay are being unfair to leave voters. The older generation in my family who voted leave done so because they saw manufacturing decline since being in the EU. The vote leavers I know that are young did not cast their vote because of immigration or xenophobia. Seems like voters are being lumped into a category. Myself I voted remain, but I don’t begrudge anyone who voted leave.

    Like

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

