Weekly Log 4 (Tuesday 26th January 2016 – Thursday 28th January 2016) – Stop-Frame Animation Project

Continuing on from Weekly Log 3 of the Stop-Frame Animation Project, Weekly Log 4 expands further on what kind of research I did, including what I would develop and create from the third week onto the fourth week of this project.

Research / Context

During the course of the week, I went on a trip up to the Science Museum and also the Natural History Museum, as I was keen to look for a large number of works and pieces that could relate to my experiments with anthropomorphism, as well as to how stop-frame animation works.

To develop my understanding further after the trip to the Science Museum and the Natural History Museum, I chose a photo from the large range of photographs I took as a backdrop for my green-screen and location-shot videos. This would help me with producing my green-screen and location-shot videos, as I would be able to produce my videos in a format that would involve anthropomorphism using the sock puppet I created for the test film.

Practical Tasks Done

As a practical task, I had made sure to take some photographs while on the trip, as this would give me the chance to pick from the large number of photos that I took, which I would be able to use as a backdrop for my test videos, as well as doing some research based on certain items, objects or even certain sculptures.

I did initially find taking pictures around certain parts of both the Science Museum and the Natural History Museum difficult at first, because I wanted to take photos in and around both museums, though there were certain parts of both museums that I wanted to visit, but weren’t able to due to there not being enough time. I was, however, able to get a large number of photos from the areas of both the museums that I visited on the 26th January 2016.

What worked well for me was I was able to get a large range of photos that would support and help me develop further with the stop-frame animation project, as the sculptures (e.g. Diplodocus Carnegii, also known as Dippy the Dinosaur), including the huge blue whale, as well as some of the die-cast models of some bi-planes, gave me some ideas as to how I could use them as examples for the sock puppets that we all created, for instance, how the sock puppets would move, and how they would act in the stop-frame animation anthropomorphism film.

To improve on it, I want to make sure that I can find out a lot more from both museums, and to also do some further in-depth research on anthropomorphism, so that I can get a better idea of how certain things work, and how I can apply my understandings of them to the stop-frame animation project.

Critical Analysis

For my critical analysis, I used the research and photos I gathered from both the Science Museum and the Natural History Museum to continue the development of the sock-puppet stop-frame animation film by working alongside three to four, if not, possibly five students on the film we’ve been developing for our green-screen and location experiments.

I feel that the research/contextual studies I’ve gathered from the Science Museum & Natural History Museum can be applied to help me develop my own experiments further with stop-frame animation, including anthropomorphism. I also feel that the research/contextual studies I’ve gathered as a result of visiting the Science Museum and the Natural History Museum will be able to help me develop and expand further on my own ideas of anthropomorphism, and I also believe this will be able to help me expand further with my own ideas on the stop-frame animation project.

This brings the fourth Weekly Log for the Stop-Frame Animation Project to a close. Please make sure to check back soon for the fifth Weekly Log from the Stop-Frame Animation Project.

Alex Smithson

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

