Weekly Log 5 (Tuesday 2nd February 2016 – Thursday 4th February 2016) – Stop-Frame Animation Project

Continuing on from Weekly Log 4 of the Stop-Frame Animation Project, Weekly Log 5 expands further on what kind of research I did, including what I would develop and create from the fourth week onto the fifth week of this project, that’s including the final Stop-Frame Animation Project film.

Research / Context

During the course of the fifth week, I did some further research based on some of the characters whose names I missed or were unable to find over the course of the first few weeks back for my sketchbook, and during the course of this week, I did a restructured version of my research presentation based on the chosen film I wanted to talk about, as I did my research presentation on the 2015 film, Shaun the Sheep, which was created and produced by Aardman Productions.

This research presentation would help me to relate the information I gathered to my experiments, as this would help me for when it comes to setting the mise-en-scene, as well as the lighting of my stop-frame animation film.

To develop my understanding, I wanted to make sure to find out more about what the mise-en-scene meant by researching it on the internet, and how I could use the information that I researched to create my own mise-en-scene for my stop-frame animation film.

I also added some more pictures to the research presentation I did, based on the character that I chose to write about, as well as doing a profile of the film, for instance, the year it was released, who the Shaun the Sheep Movie was directed by, as well as giving a brief description of the film, given that I’ve actually seen it before.

Practical Tasks Done

The process I used was the mise-en-scene, given that the Shaun the Sheep Movie not only involved the full use of anthropomorphism (a character with human-like features), but the mise-en-scene, for a scene in the film, in this case: “The Big City”, involved a large amount of buildings and cars that, if you look at it closely, looks like the kind of layout for a city-wide redevelopment project. I used the mise-en-scene as an idea for my stop-frame animation test film by using a photograph I took when I went on the trip to the Science Museum and the Natural History Museum a week before.

What I thought was difficult was being able to select a good photograph from the large variety of photographs that I took whilst I was on the trip to use as the mise-en-scene for my test film. I wanted to make sure that the photo I had chosen would blend in with the characters that were used in the making of the stop-frame animation test film that me and two other students produced while in the photography studio.

What worked well, however, was I was able to use the photograph I took of the stain-glassed windows that the museum had in full view from the first floor to set the mise-en-scene for the test film, after we finished our green-screen and location photo sets.

To improve, I want to make sure to take out certain bits of my test film that are irrelevant, and only add in the most relevant bits that are important, so that it gives me a better chance to set the mise-en-scene better for my test film.

Critical Analysis

For the composition, I wanted to make sure to produce my film, but in a way where I could influence the film that I did some research on in my own experimental test film, by using the sock puppet that I produced a few weeks before to produce the film with a small number of students, given that other sock puppets would also be involved in the test film we would produce after making our own sock puppets a few weeks prior.

I have felt that the research/contextual studies I have gathered can be applied to help me develop my own experiments, as this will help me to develop my own version of my own mise-en-scene, and I also feel that this will help me to set the lighting of my test film for certain shots that I want to produce, before I progress onto making my final stop-frame animation film.

This brings the fifth Weekly Log for the Stop-Frame Animation Project to a close. Please make sure to check back soon for the final Weekly Log from the Stop-Frame Animation Project.

Alex Smithson

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

