CROYDON

Early yesterday morning and sometime during the afternoon when I was on my hour-long lunch break, I ceased the opportunity to snap a small set of photographs in and around Croydon as I arrived over an hour early before my 9:30 AM lesson time. I must admit, I used the Camera+ app again after a while, and I must say I have noticed a dramatic improvement in my photography skills, but at the same time, I’ve also noticed I can take better photographs than before.

The concept I have used here is how I want you to see Croydon, the urban area that is known for being one of the most graffitied places in London, but is also known for being one of the most artistic places in London, considering there are actual murals that were commissioned that would decorate Croydon in vibrant, bold and eye-catching colours.

The title of this photo-set has the obvious graffiti style to it, considering that graffiti can symbolise or be a certain work of art, or even the kind of graffiti where someone decides to leave their mark. Graffiti can also be a symbol for gangs, depending on what the story that piece of graffiti may carry.

How would I describe Croydon? I would describe Croydon to be an urban area, with endless amounts of colourful graffiti, artistic pieces, including the new and recently commissioned artistic Winston Churchill mural, with a lot of structural buildings that stick out like a sore thumb. Those buildings that stick out like a sore thumb are Fairfield Halls, which officially closed in July as part of expansion work which is expected to be completed some time in 2018, the Saffron Tower, the new BOXPARK opposite Lloyd’s Bank, the Nestlé Building, including the No. 1 Tower and the Whitgift Centre.

Below is the photo set I created yesterday before and during college hours.

If you like the photo set I have produced, please feel free to let me know by submitting feedback below in the comments. All feedback is much appreciated.

Alex Smithson

Make of Phone Used: iPhone 5

App Used: Camera+ (Recommended)

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

