Ignorance

Shortly after I went to see the firework display at the Croydon Road Recreation Ground on Saturday 5th November 2016, I was on my way home and whilst I waited for my bus, I saw two drivers who were using their phones or tablets behind the wheel whilst I waited. I didn’t make it obvious that I was looking at them, but they were being ignorant enough to use their phones behind the wheel even when there was heavy traffic present.

The title says it all. Why is there so much of ignorance in this world? I’ll tell you, it’s because some people think they’re so clever thinking that they can do something that they are actually not supposed to be doing, to which they find out the hard way sooner rather than later.

Recently, there were major health and safety concerns after a group of people set fireworks off which they relentlessly aimed at secondary school students as they were on their way home down Shirley Road, something of which I was only made aware of the moment I got home from college.

Just imagine this, suppose you were someone who went to see a firework display and then all of a sudden, someone with not a brain in their head decides to set off and aim a firework at you, and you nearly didn’t see it coming, how are you going to feel if the firework explodes and you almost come close to suffering burns to your body? It’s going to be extremely painful for you and can have a life-changing impact on how you look. Straightaway, the first thing they will begin to think is: “Why did I set that firework off at them? They never did anything wrong and yet I have aimed that firework at them, not realising the horrific pain that they could have been going through as a result of my own ignorance of setting off the firework.

At the end of the day, ignorance kills and only we can prevent it.

If you feel that ignorance can kill, then please let me know by submitting feedback below. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Alex Smithson

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

