CROYDON / Thursday 15th December 2016

As I will be starting a self-directed photography project in 2017, I have decided to share with you all a small photographic collection I took of Croydon whilst I was at Croydon College yesterday before falling sick to a sore throat and cold, keeping in mind that my work for the past few projects were all submitted on Monday.

The reason I chose to create a cut-throat style kind of text in the name, Croydon, is because I want you to see Croydon as being a community that is divided, where some values are more or less stripped or tarnished of all credibility despite Croydon taking centre-stage when good things come out of it.

How do I see landscape photography in Croydon? I see landscape photography in Croydon as an opportunity for me to take photos of the landmarks, including the shops that surround me.

Landscapes interest me, as I am fascinated by how certain objects are positioned depending on the place. For example, I love nature, but I love to know how a plant blossoms in a certain location. The same idea can consist of a landmark, for example, the Lloyds Bank opposite BOXPARK CROYDON stands out instantly as it is a larger building that you cannot exactly miss from a distance.

Overall, I am really pleased I used the Camera+ app (recommended) to take these photos, as they came out a lot better than I expected.

If you liked my small photo collection of Croydon, please let me know by commenting below your feedback. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Alex Smithson

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

