Kelsey Park / Croydon School of Art / Curiosity / Self-Directed Project / 24.1.2017

As part of my Self-Directed Project, I travelled to Kelsey Park to snap a collection of photographs given that my Self-Directed Project focuses around Nature. For this Self-Directed Project, I researched 5 different nature photographers; Ansel Adams, David Muench, John Shaw, Art Wolfe & Joel Sartore.

As I last visited Kelsey Park 3 years ago, it is safe to say that my photography skills have dramatically and rapidly improved quite a lot over time.

This large collection of photographs that I took of Kelsey Park would comprise of some species of ducks and geese, including some squirrels as well.

As I have a strong passion for nature and photography, I was lucky enough to photograph at least two swans, one of which you can see above which I changed to black and white.

I was surprised to notice that Kelsey Park’s lake was mostly frozen from the blisteringly cold weather, though one of the Moor Hen’s decided to land and slid across the ice. I did change the ISO mostly to photograph this collection considering that nightfall wasn’t far behind, so I did make sure to make the most of the daylight to snap these photographs.

I got some photographs of the Canada Geese up, close and personal, but I did make sure to walk very slowly and crouch down slowly in order to produce these photographs to the best standard where possible.

In terms of these photographs, I feel this is my best photographic collection to date because I have changed the ISO and got a bit more close up with nature which is what I’ve been looking to do for a while. I must admit, I took these photos with an 18 – 55 mm Nikkor Lens which came bundled with the Nikon D3300 DSLR and I didn’t need to opt for a bigger camera lens. On the plus side, I was absolutely glad that I took these photographs on Tuesday as this photographic collection will help me with my self-directed project.

If you have been to Kelsey Park before, please let me know, I would love to hear what your thoughts are on Kelsey Park and if you have never been to Kelsey Park, don’t worry, this photographic collection will give you an in-depth look on Kelsey Park and the beauty of nature. Mind you, I am pleased with the final results I’ve achieved from this photographic collection and I will continue to improve my photography skills and get behind the DSLR more.

If you enjoyed this photographic collection of Kelsey Park, please let me know. I would love to hear your feedback.

Alex Smithson

© The Croydon College Logo & Croydon School of Art Logo are both copyright of Croydon College & Croydon School of Art. Permission has been granted for these logos to be used. No copyright infringement intended.

One thought on “Kelsey Park / Croydon School of Art / Curiosity / Self-Directed Project / 24.1.2017

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

