The Harsh Reality of Social Media (Parental Guidance is Advised)

This is a topic of discussion that needs to be talked about and I want to make sure this happens.

I’m just throwing this out there if you’re willing to read this article as there is a bit of fruity language included in this article, so my sincerest apologies in advance. I’m just expressing my views and venting my frustrations at certain core areas that revolve around social media.

Social media, as we know it, is often a foregone conclusion to the digital world nowadays, as it is used in many different ways, either to criticise someone based on their appearance and how they choose to appear, as well as what they look like.

The harsh reality of social media is this; a messed-up overzealous world that looks to criticise and judge those around them to make others feel low when they don’t deserve it.

It’s all well and good using social media where other’s comments are concerned, but how do people expect to treat others with total disrespect and then not have the bottle to say what they say to someone over social media to their faces? It is hypocrisy gone wild! The art of communication now has truly gone out of the window and it is no thanks to social media and the media in general, and I shan’t be ashamed, to say the least.

I always live by this rule. If you can’t say anything nice about someone on social media and then not have the bottle to say what you said to them on social media to their faces, then keep your mouth closed. No one wants to know your business. No one wants to know what you’ve got to say about others, so stop bitching about someone on social media if you haven’t got the nerve to say it to their faces.

To clarify, I do apologise if you feel I am aiming this at you because I’m not, I’m only aiming it at those who are willing to twist and manipulate others whilst also criticising them without them having the bottle to say it to the person’s face.

I had that fair share of experience last year when someone twisted and manipulated my kindness emotionally and it did get to me briefly, much like it would for anyone else who has had that fair share of experience themselves and I shan’t deny that but I felt better about myself after learning that that person who did that to me got nowhere and took control and learned to not take shit.

I won’t lie, for me to take no shit and give it back to those who gave it to me first has made me feel better and has made me more confident as I will treat that person the same way back if they aren’t willing to be nice.

Like they say, when push comes to shove, if you cannot handle the heat, then get out.

If the language I have used in this topic of discussion did by chance offend you, I sincerely apologise.

Have you had that fair share of experience from someone who has made comments about you or to you on social media but they didn’t have the bottle to say it directly to your face? Please feel free to sound off in the comments. I would love for you to express your views freely on the harsh realities of social media.

Alex Smithson

Feel free to leave a reply :-)

