The Concept of Expression: Saviyon Thomas & Shaquille Roachford / Beyond the Expression

Going back to the drawing board with the photographs I previously produced that featured my close friends, Saviyon Thomas & Shaquille Roachford, I produced some more photographs that follow on from when I photographed my close friend, the actor and mental health awareness campaigner, Oli Regan, of Saviyon & Shaquille.

As I wanted to make sure these photos had that cut and thrust appeal about them, I went beyond the expression by exploring their personalities a little more in-depth. In this case, I wanted to capture off-the-cuff natural facial expressions that Saviyon & Shaquille made, whilst also capturing the essence of their emotions in their facial expressions.

Saviyon & Shaquille’s facial expressions were really natural, and what I feel made this photo set more interesting was the naturalism of their expressions, as I caught them off-guard without them noticing, that was, until I showed them the photographs, of course. They were really pleased with the end result of these photographs, and I too was impressed.

Below are the photographs I produced, featuring my close friend, Saviyon Thomas.

Saviyon Thomas

Shaquille Roachford

These photographs are a notable improvement in my photography skills, but at a later stage, I will want to experiment with portrait photography more, whilst experimenting further with lighting, including the saturation, contrast and more so.

I will be working on this photography series over the course of 2018 but will be making sure to try and find the time, when I can, to photograph more people. In this case, I will be looking to try and photograph some of my friends so that I can gain confidence more with portrait and landscape photography, whilst working much harder behind the camera.

Please let me know if there are any improvements I can make to my photography skills as this will help me to become better at photographing people in the future, as well as becoming better at photographing landscapes, nature and everything else photography-based in general. I would love to hear your feedback.

Alex Smithson

Photography Collection Produced: Saturday 5th August 2017

Camera Used: Nikon D3300

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.